1. Rights Information and Terms of Use

Rights Information

• Holding Institution: Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, The University of Tokyo
• Providers:
  • Uehiro Project for the Asian Research Library (U-PARL), The University of Tokyo Library
  • Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, The University of Tokyo

Terms of Use

The contents of this database (including images and metadata) are made available under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). When the materials are used, attribution to the holding institution (Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, The University of Tokyo) is required. If you modify the image data or other content, you must clearly indicate that the data has been altered. Please refrain from presenting modified data in a way that suggests it was created or published by the holding institution. No application to the holding institution is required for using this database.

---

2. About the Catalogue Information in the Beta Version Database

The catalogue information for the ‘Daiber Collection’ exists in two versions:

1. Printed Edition: Catalogue of the Arabic Manuscripts in the Daiber Collection, The Documentation Center for Asian Studies, Institute of Oriental Culture, The University of Tokyo, 1988 (I) and 1996 (II).
2. Current Database: Published online in 2006 (https://ricasdb.ioc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/daiber/db_index_eng.html).

The current database (2) reflects slight modifications of the printed edition (1), such as using original orthography for transcription. The metadata of this beta version database is based on the current database (2).

---

3. Citation Guidelines

The Daiber Collection consists of two parts, Collection I and Collection II, with codex numbers assigned to each collection. When citing materials, please include the following:

• Collection Number (Roman numerals),
• Codex Number (Ms_no)
• The holding institution.

Do not include the four-digit identification number (Item_no) from the current database (e.g. [1001]) in citations. If you modify the content, indicate that it has been altered in accordance with the CC BY 4.0 license.

Example of Citation

1. ʿAlī b. Muḥammad al-Jurjānī, Kitāb al-taʿrīfāt, MS Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, The University of Tokyo, Daiber II-99, fol. 50r.
2. ʿAlī b. Muḥammad al-Jurjānī, Kitāb al-taʿrīfāt, MS Tokyo, Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, The University of Tokyo, Daiber II-99, fol. 50r.
3. ʿAlī b. Muḥammad al-Jurjānī, Kitāb al-taʿrīfāt, MS Daiber II, Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, The University of Tokyo, 99, fol. 50r.

---

4. Search Interface

Currently, the database allows searches using text strings (in Arabic and Latin characters) and filtering by collection, codex number (Ms_no) and theme (genres). To display data for a specific codex, click on the desired collection number and enter the corresponding codex number in the “Ms. Number” field. The theme classifications are based on the indexes of the current Daiber Collection’s ‘Index by Classification’: Collection I (https://ricasdb.ioc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/daiber/db_idx_cat_I.html) and Collection II (https://ricasdb.ioc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/daiber/db_idx_cat.html), with additional information incorporated.

---

5. Metadata Fields

This database is created based on the classifications and bibliographic information published in the 2006 database. Key metadata fields include:

• Collection: Refers to Collection I or II.
• Ms_no: Indicates the codex (manuscript) number.
• Item_no: Refers to the four-digit identification number (e.g., [1001]) used in the current database (https://ricasdb.ioc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/daiber/db_index_eng.html).
• Description: Contains bibliographic and related information created by Prof. Hans Daiber.

For issues identified during data creation, such as errors in folio numbers or missing images, please refer to the metadata field (note). The metadata will continue to be refined for greater interoperability through ongoing discussions.

---

6. Use of Google Analytics

This database uses Google Analytics to collect statistical data on user activity. For details on how Google handles data, please refer to "How Google uses information from sites or apps that use our services".

---

7. Collection of Search History

This database collects information related to search history for the purposes of optimizing search functionality and understanding usage patterns. The information collected includes search keywords, the number of search results, selected collections and genres, and Codex numbers. This information is used solely to improve the quality of the service.